Agricultural education at college level, in the Union of Myanmar was started on December 22, 1924 with the establishment of the Agricultural College and Research Institute of Mandalay. Initially, the college offered a diploma course which was of 3-year duration. In 1938, the college became a constituent college of the University of Yangon. Students who had passed the Intermediate of Science examination of the Rangoon University were admitted to the agricultural course and were conferred B.Sc.(Agriculture) degree after two year period of study. In 1947, the college was transtormed to the status of Faculty of Agriculture in Mandalay under the administration of the University of Rangoon . The two-year agricultural course was extended to three-year course in 1955 and B.Sc.(Sericulture) degree was also awarded in that year.

The Faculty of Agriculture was further upgraded to a separate University known as the Institute (University) of Agriculture. Due to the expansion programme, the Institute was moved from Mandalay to Yezin in 1973. Master's courses were offered beginning 1978 with the introduction of a semester credit system.

The Institute of Agriculture was transferred from the Higher Education Department, Ministry of Education to the Ministry of Agriculture on September 1,1993. It was renamed as the "Yezin University of Agriculture" in 1997.

The Yezin University of Agricylture is the only centre of higher learning in agriculture in the Union of Myanmar. The main objective of this Institute is to train students appropriately and enable them to attain high standard in agricultural science, and generate well qualified agriculturists for the country.


The students who apply for the undergraduate degree programme, require to meet the following requirements.

(a)A pass in Basic High School Ginal Examination
(b)Myanmar citizenship
(c)A satisfactory academic record
(d)A satisfactory character record
(e)Health Certificate(Grade A)

The selection of students for the Universities, Institutes and Colleges is carried out by the Selection Committee, Higher Education Department of the Ministry of Education.

Student Enrolment

The annual intake for first year students is about 300. Those who obtain the Diploma in Agriculture (top5%) from State Agricultural Institute can join the YUA for B.Agr.Sc. degree if they pass the Entrance Examination. But only 30 seats are available for these diplomates.


Academic Departments

The University is composed of nine major departments, namely Agronomy Dept., Agri. Botany., Agri. Chemistry., Dept., Entomolpgy Dept., Horticulture Dept., Agri., Economics Dept., Animal Science Dept., and Agri. Engineering Dept., these major departments are supported by four basic departments of Myanmar, English, Physics and Mathematics. The basic courses of Zooly, botany and Chemistrty are offered by the Entomology, Agri. Botany, and agri. Chemistry Departments respectively.

Strength of Staff

Administrative Organization
The supervision of the YUA, its policies and affairs, is carried out by the Administrative and Academic Body of the Institute. All actions of these bodies are aubjected to the Ministry of Agriculture and Irrigation, the Central Academic Council and the Central Aministrative of the Universities and Colleges of the whole country. The Institutional affairs are administered by the Rector and Pro-rector with the assistance Body and Administrative Body of the Institute with the 661 professionals and other syaff.


Undergraduate Programme

The required period for graduation is 5 years. Course for the first two years are designed to provide a good foundation in basic sciences and fundamental training in various aspects of agriculture.
Remaining courses are designed to offer studies in broad general agriculture maintaining a good blance between the physics, chemical, ciological, social siences in agriculture.

In the fifth years, the students are required to proceed in a selected field of interest which is known as Elective Stream Syatem . Six elective streams are provided such as Field Crop Production, Crop Science, Horticultural Crop Production, Soil and Water Management, Plant Protetion I (Agri. Entomology) and Plant Protetion II (Plant Pathology). Upon successful completion of the fourth year courses, the students are required to apply for the esat in one of these streams. Each students is also assigned to aolve a special proplem in a seleted field of study.

Students who have satisfied their grarduation requirements are awarded a Bachelor of Agricultural Science Degree (B.Agr.Sc.).

Postgraduate Programme

The required period for graduation of M.Agr.Sc. degree is a minimum and maximum resident of 4 to 10 semesters respectively, and normally 50 credit hours (34 sredits for course work and 16 credit s for thesis) may be required. A student shall be rewquired to submit a thesis as a partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Master's degree. Within the existing Limitation of staff and other constraints, in the Master's degree, Agronomy, Agri. Botany, agri. Chemistry, entomology and Plant Pathology subjects are offered in combination with minor subjects such as Hokrticulture, Agri. Economics and Animal Science Husbandry.

Students who havecompleted the garduation requirements, are awarded a Master of Agricultural Science degree (M.Agr.Sc)


Government Stipend

The selection and awart of stipends are carried out by the Hidher Education Department of the Ministry of Education from among students who apply for them, based on the recommendation of the township State Peace and Decelopement Council. Around 40-50 first year students are awarded 300 kyats per month till graduation. Five percent of the total first year students is awarded for free tuition till graduation.

Minister's Scholarship
The Minister for Agriculture and Irrigation awards the scholarship prize of 300 kyats per month to those students who stood position first to eight in the second year, third year, fourth year and final year classes, respectively.

Mitsubishi Scholarship

The Mitsubishi Scholarship was established in 1996, through its Branch in Yangon.. The scholarship scheme aims to support outstanding students, i,e between position one to ten , who have financial weakness to pursue their school terms. The scholarship is US$ 250 per year and required investigation as to eligibility is usually made by the MOAI senior officiakls. The number of students for this scholarship is limited to 10. Form the year 1998-99, a new scheme will be widely introducedn for more outstanding students. Within a five year period , 60 students are to be seleted through the Mitsubishi ScholarshipScanning Board to be formed with head of Mitsubishi Branch and two officials from MOAI.